• Ian Smith

    Non-executive Chairman

    Mr Ian Smith was appointed a Non-executive Director in August 2023.

    Mr Smith is a highly experienced executive and professional director with more than 40 years’ history working in and leading domestic and international mining and mining services companies.

    Mr Smith has held some of the most senior positions in the Australian resources industry, including managing director and chief executive officer for both Orica Limited and Newcrest Mining Limited. His technical, operational and commercial stewardship during his Newcrest tenure was instrumental to the Company’s success – transforming the business into Australia’s largest gold mining company, and elevating Newcrest to one of the largest gold operators in the world.

    Mr Smith has held senior and executive positions with Rio Tinto, WMC Resources, CRA Limited and Pasminco. He has previously served on the boards for Australian Mines & Metals Association, Australian Chamber of Commerce & Industry and as the Chairman of the Minerals Council of Australia.

  • Ron Douglas

    Executive Director & Interim Chief Executive Officer

    Mr Ron Douglas was appointed an Executive Director to the Board in August 2023.

    Mr Douglas has extensive experience from a range of both executive and operations roles gained during 40 years within publicly listed global mining, energy, and manufacturing companies.

    Mr Douglas adds valuable construction experience to the VHM Board, having been responsible for multiple major projects in both mining and engineering/construction companies. This background brings a wealth of international operations and compliance knowledge, having lived and worked in the Americas, West Africa, United Kingdom, Netherlands, and Australasia.

    Mr Douglas has held several board positions for publicly listed companies previously and his experience in capital program delivery and corporate transaction negotiations is highly valued within the VHM team.

  • Maree Arnason

    Non-executive Director

    Ms Maree Arnason was appointed a Non-executive Director to the Board in August 2023.

    Ms Arnason has over 35 years’ experience across the natural resources, energy and manufacturing sectors with companies including BHP Billiton, Carter Holt Harvey, Svenska Cellulosa AB and Wesfarmers. She has worked across commodities including iron ore, gold, copper, timber, coal, mineral sands and natural gas and has gained expertise in governance, strategy, sustainability, risk, corporate affairs, stakeholder relations, transformations, divestments and integrations.

    Ms Arnason is a Non-executive Director of ASX-200 Gold Road Resources and is Chair of their Risk and ESG Committee; a Non-executive Director of Ardea Resources Limited and a Co-founder and Director of Energy Access Services, which operate an independent Western-Australian focused digital trading platform for wholesale gas buyers and sellers. Maree is also Chair of Juniper, one of Westen Australia’s largest aged care community benefit organisations with over 2,000 employees and 4,500 clients.

    Ms Arnason holds a Bachelor of Arts from Deakin University. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (FAICD), a member of AICD’s Corporate Governance Committee and a AICD WA Division Councillor. Maree also serves on the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) Corporate Governance Consultative Panel.

  • Graham Howard

    Non-executive Director

    Mr Graham Howard was appointed a Non-executive Director from October 2023.

    Over 35 years’ experience in the Australian mining and metals industry with 20 years of those spent in senior operations, corporate and managing director positions.

    Graham is an esteemed Geologist and is a Fellow of Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy.

  • Don Runge

    Non-Executive Director

    Mr Don Runge has over 40 years’ project and operations experience in the Mining industry. His with operational and leadership experience in industrial minerals includes the development of the Uley Graphite Project (South Australia).

    Mr Runge has previously held executive management positions for Newcrest Mining Limited, including Manager for Ridgeway Underground Project Development (Queensland) and General Manager of Cracow Gold Mine (Queensland).


  • Michael Sheridan

    Chief Finance Officer

    Commercial executive who has worked at senior management levels in publicly listed companies, predominantly in international resources, telecommunications and corporate advisory sectors.

  • Carly O’Regan

    Executive General Manager, Strategy and Corporate

    Significant business and operational experience in a diverse range of industries, including finance, investor relations, commercial, mining, oil, and gas, both in Australia and internationally.

  • Bernie Hyde

    Executive General Manager, Operations Readiness   

    Over 40-year career in the mining industry spans brown coal, black coal, gold, copper, and nickel mining and processing operations around Australia. Over 25 years of those have been spent in supervisory and management roles, responsible for leading operations and maintenance delivery teams.

    Bernie is the Chair of the Minerals Council of Australia (MCA) – Victoria Division’s Safety & Health Working Group and has held this position for over 15 years.